INCONTACT  information about specific international cooperation calls in the Horizon 2020 work programmes

Skip to: content, navigation

Call Details

Work Programme : Food - Food security, sustainable agriculture and forestry, marine and maritime and inland water research
Call Identifier : H2020-SFS-2014-1
Call Type : Targeted call
Publication Date : 11 December 2013
Deadline : 26 June 2014
Title : Sustainable intensification pathways of agro-food systems in Africa SFS-06-2014
Description : Long-term projections suggest that the pressure on food and nutrition security (FNS) will be the highest in Africa as a combined result of low levels of agricultural productivity and high demographic growth rates. Boosting agricultural productivity while ensuring environmental, economic and social sustainability (including the fighting against land degradation/desertification and coping with climate change) is a challenge but essential in lifting poorer rural households out of poverty, ensuring rural employment and the livelihood of the farming community and providing food for an increasing urban population. The Science Agenda for African Agriculture is calling for a transformation of African agriculture.
Proposals should develop further the concept and approach expected to be implemented in the partnership. Feasibility, strategic priorities and action plan should be developed taking full account of present and emerging initiatives at national, EU, African (e.g. CAADP and the forthcoming Science Agenda for Agriculture in Africa) and global level so as to maximise complementarities and synergies.
Targeted countries : INCO ACP AFRICAN : Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Congo (Republic), Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania (United Republic of), Togo, Uganda